To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
amicitia centered new3.jpg
The monument

AMICITIA France-Canada is the national monument  erected in Ottawa to recognize more than four centuries of shared history and heritage and more than 90 years of official diplomatic relations between France and Canada.

Beyond the timeless memorial, Amicitia wants to entrust to future generations, through their civic engagement, the mission of continuing to keep our unique fraternal friendship between France and Canada alive.

A Monument born from shared history and heritage 

 

Located in historic Beechwood Cemetery — the national cemetery of Canada — this monument will be a living testament to our everlasting friendship and to the countless French communities and Canadians from sea to sea to sea who have and continue to support, contribute and enrich the lives of so many others all around the world during times of war, conflict and peace. 

As well, France and Canada continue their commitment to work jointly all around the world in military and police conflicts such as fighting terrorism in Afghanistan, fighting drug interdiction in the Caribbean and conducting peace keeping and making operations in remote and conflicted regions. 

Our close relationship and deep cooperation have led to important advances and contributions with considerable impact over the years in the fields of education, research, technology, justice, literature and culture. It is through our long-lasting historical, cultural, economic and scientific ties — as well as our desire to achieve common goals, gender equality and democratic legitimacy — that we continue to build and solidify our fraternal friendship. 

 "AMICITIA France-Canada is the Latin expression for “fraternal friendship France‑Canada”  

During the Great War, there were over 650,000 Canadians and Newfoundlanders who participated in that “war to end all wars.” Amidst them are French immigrants who arrived during the late 19th and early 20th century who volunteered to join the Canadian Corps for fighting in France. Despite the terrible conditions that existed at that time and building on the foundation established by members of the French and Allied Forces, it was at the Battle of Vimy Ridge that Canada attacked and captured the German stronghold in April 1917. Celebrated as one of Canada’s greatest victory, this is where the iconic Canadian National Vimy Memorial has stood since July 1936. During the First World War, there were many Canadians who were recognized with the French Legion of Honour for their leadership role during battle and also 52 brave Canadians who were honoured with the French Military Medal – France’s second highest award that dates back to 1852. 

During the Second World War, there were countless battles undertaken by thousands of Canadian sailors, soldiers and aviators who were part of the efforts in the Liberation of France in August 1944. As a sign of respect and appreciation to the Canadians, the government of France awarded their Legion of Honour to more than 1,400 men and women from the Canadian armed forces who participated in the Liberation efforts that spanned from Provence to Normandy. History repeated itself when French people from the Free French forces enrolled in the Canadian forces for combat in France – of whom one of these members was buried with full military honours at Beechwood Cemetery. 

Today, France and Canada continue their commitment to work jointly all around the world in military and police conflicts such as fighting terrorism in Afghanistan, fighting drug interdiction in the Caribbean and conducting peace keeping and making operations in remote and conflicted regions. As well, our close cooperative relationship has led to important advances and contributions with considerable impact over the years in the fields of education, research, technology, justice and culture. It is through our long-lasting historical, cultural, economic and scientific ties – as well as our desire to achieve common goals, gender equality and democratic legitimacy – that we continue to build and solidify our fraternal friendship. 

A monument built on strength 

The construction of our commemorative site within Beechwood Cemetery will certainly encourage similar initiatives, paving the way for a future "garden of Canada's allies". Being a timeless memorial, "Amicitia France-Canada" must not only honor the spirit of the contributions and sacrifices made but must also be a physical symbol highlighting the combined action of our respective strengths and excellences. The monument will thus symbolize the transmission of the duty of memory to the younger generations, the common will to achieve perfect gender equality and the objective of protecting the world’s poorest populations from all forms of violence. 

Made of granite and bronze, this monument is described in two inseparable parts, forming a whole of about 7.5 metres long with a height, on the central part, of 3 metres. On the central plinth of the monument will appear the Latin inscription "AMICITIA FRANCE-CANADA" below which will be carved the effigy of "Marianne" – the historic symbol of France – superimposed on a large veined maple leaf representing Canada. At the top of the pedestal will be a sculpture of two forearms, female and male, mutually brandishing a torch. The female arm on the left will represent that of Marianne sculpted at the base of the Arc de Triomphe in Paris near the flame of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier buried there in November 1920. The male arm on the right is inspired by the figure of the "Torchbearer" located at the foot of the Canadian National Vimy Memorial in France and near the Cabaret-Rouge British Cemetery, from where Canada’s Unknown Soldier was repatriated to Ottawa in May 2000. 

Marianne-Arc_de_Triomphe-DSC07746-Edited

The female arm will represent that of Marianne sculpted at the base of the Arc de Triomphe in Paris.

Torch_BearerDSC00823-VimyMonument.JPG

The male arm  is inspired by the figure of the "Torchbearer" located at the foot of the Canadian National Vimy Memorial in France.

 The AMICITIA France-Canada Monument is proudly supported by AMICITIA France-Canada: The “Société nationale d’entraide de la Médaille militaire au Canada”, “association Français du Monde Ottawa-Gatineau”, “association de l’Union des Français à l’étranger Ottawa- Gatineau” and “association des décorés de la Légion d’honneur Ottawa”, Beechwood, the National Cemetery of Canada and the Embassy of France in Canada. 

PARTNERS copy.jpg

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
amicitia centered new3.jpg
Le monument

AMICITIA France-Canada est le monument national qui sera érigé à Ottawa pour reconnaître plus de quatre siècles d’histoire et de patrimoine communs et plus de 90 ans de relations diplomatiques officielles entre la France et le Canada. 

Au-delà du mémorial intemporel, Amicitia veut confier aux futures générations, par leur engagement citoyen, la mission de continuer à faire vivre notre unique amitié fraternelle France-Canada.

Un monument né d'une histoire et d'un patrimoine partagés 

Situé dans le cimetière historique de Beechwood – le cimetière national du Canada – ce monument sera le témoignage vivant de notre amitié éternelle et de la grande communauté française et canadienne qui a et continue de soutenir, d’alimenter et d’enrichir, d’un océan à l’autre, la vie de tant d’autres personnes à travers le monde pendant les périodes de guerre, de conflit et de paix. 

 

De plus, la France et le Canada poursuivent leur engagement conjoint à travers le monde dans les conflits militaires et policiers tels que la lutte contre le terrorisme en Afghanistan, la lutte contre le trafic de stupéfiants dans les Antilles, le maintien de la paix et la réalisation d’opérations dans des régions reculées soumises à la violence. 

Notre relation de coopération étroite et approfondie a permis d’importants progrès et contributions ayant un impact considérable au fil des ans dans les domaines de l’éducation, de la recherche, de la technologie, de la justice, de la littérature et de la culture. C’est à travers nos liens historiques, culturels, économiques et scientifiques durables, ainsi que notre désir d’atteindre des objectifs communs, l’égalité des genres et la légitimité démocratique, que nous continuons à bâtir et à solidifier notre amitié fraternelle. 

«  AMICITIA France-Canada est l’expression latine pour « Amitié fraternelle France-Canada » 

Pendant la Grande Guerre, plus de 650 000 Canadiens et Terre-Neuviens ont participé à cette « guerre pour mettre fin à toutes les guerres ». Parmi eux, des immigrants français de la fin du 19e et du début du 20e siècle s’enrôlèrent au sein du Corps canadien pour aller combattre en France. Malgré les conditions terribles de l'époque, tout en s'appuyant sur les actions militaires des Forces françaises et alliées, c'est lors de la bataille de la crête de Vimy que le Canada a attaqué et capturé le bastion allemand en avril 1917. Célébrée comme l'une des plus grandes victoires du Canada, l'emblématique Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy y est érigé depuis juillet 1936. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, de nombreux Canadiens ont été décorés de la Légion d'honneur française pour leur rôle de leadership au combat ainsi que 52 courageux Canadiens qui furent honorés de la Médaille militaire française – la deuxième plus haute distinction française qui remonte à 1852. 

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, des milliers de marins, soldats et aviateurs canadiens prirent part aux innombrables combats et contribuèrent ainsi aux efforts pour la Libération de la France en août 1944. En témoignage de reconnaissance envers les Canadiens, le gouvernement français a décerné la Légion d'honneur à plus de 1 400 hommes et femmes des forces armées canadiennes ayant contribué aux actions de libération qui s'étalaient de la Provence à la Normandie. L’histoire s’est répétée puisque là encore des Français des forces françaises libres se sont enrôlés dans les forces canadiennes pour combattre en France dont l’un d’entre eux est inhumé avec tous les honneurs militaires au cimetière Beechwood. 

Aujourd'hui, la France et le Canada poursuivent leur engagement conjoint à travers le monde dans les conflits militaires et policiers tels que la lutte contre le terrorisme en Afghanistan, la lutte contre le trafic de stupéfiants dans les Caraïbes, le maintien de la paix et la réalisation d'opérations dans des régions reculées soumises à la violence. De plus, notre relation étroite de coopération a permis d'importants progrès et contributions ayant un impact considérable au fil des ans dans les domaines de l'éducation, de la recherche, de la technologie, de la justice, et de la culture. C'est à travers nos liens historiques, culturels, économiques et scientifiques durables, ainsi que notre désir d'atteindre des objectifs communs, l'égalité des sexes et la légitimité démocratique, que nous continuons à bâtir et à solidifier notre amitié fraternelle. 

Un monument bâti sur la force

La construction de notre site commémoratif au sein du cimetière Beechwood va certainement susciter des initiatives similaires, ouvrant ainsi la voie à un futur « jardin des alliés du Canada ». S’agissant d’un mémorial intemporel, « Amicitia France-Canada » ne doit pas seulement honorer l'esprit des contributions et sacrifices consentis, mais doit être aussi un symbole mettant en exergue l’action conjuguée de nos forces et excellences respectives. Le monument devra ainsi symboliser la transmission du devoir de mémoire aux jeunes générations, la volonté commune d’accéder à la parfaite égalité des genres et l’objectif de protéger de toutes violences les populations les plus démunies à travers le monde. 

Fait de granit et de bronze, ce monument se décrit en deux parties non dissociables, formant un ensemble d’environ 7.5 mètres de long pour une hauteur, sur la partie centrale, de 3 mètres. Sur le socle central du monument figurera la mention latine « AMICITIA FRANCE-CANADA » en dessous de laquelle sera sculptée l’effigie de « Marianne » – le symbole historique de la France – superposée sur une grande feuille d'érable veinée représentant le Canada. Au sommet du piédestal se tiendra une sculpture de deux avant-bras, féminin et masculin, brandissant mutuellement une torche. Le bras féminin situé à gauche représentera celui de Marianne sculpté à la base de l'Arc de Triomphe à Paris à proximité de la flamme de la Tombe du Soldat inconnu inhumé en ces lieux en novembre 1920. Le bras masculin à droite s'inspire de la figure du « Porteur de flambeau » situé au pied du Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy en France et proche du cimetière britannique de Cabaret-Rouge, d’où le soldat inconnu du Canada a été rapatrié à Ottawa en mai 2000. 

Marianne-Arc_de_Triomphe-DSC07746-Edited

Le bras féminin situé à gauche représentera celui de Marianne sculpté à la base de l'Arc de Triomphe à Paris.

Torch_BearerDSC00823-VimyMonument.JPG

Le bras masculin s'inspire de la figure du « Porteur de flambeau » situé au pied du Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy en France.

Le monument AMICITIA France-Canada est appuyé fièrement par AMICITIA France-Canada : la « Société nationale d’entraide de la Médaille militaire au Canada », l’association « Français du Monde Ottawa-Gatineau », l’association « l’Union des Français de l’étranger Ottawa-Gatineau » et « l’association des décorés de la Légion d’honneur Ottawa », Beechwood, le cimetière national du Canada, et l’Ambassade de France au Canada. 

PARTNERS copy.jpg