RECOGNITION

The Monument Amicitia France-Canada Association would like to recognize the many members of the AMICITIA collective who have been recognized for their efforts associated with Franco-Canadian relations with its Recognition Program.

Jacques Janson receives a Meritorious Service Medal
from the Governor General of Canada
meritorious-service-medal-msm_edited.png
Jacques Jenson.jpg
LOGO AMICITIA SMALL.png

In the photograph taken in Rideau Hall's Ballroom, Jacques Janson is seated second from the right in the front row

(Credit: Sgt Mathieu St-Amour, Rideau Hall, Reference Number: GG09-2021-0116-071).

On 13 December 2021, during a ceremony at Rideau Hall (Ottawa), Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, presented honours to 22 exceptional individuals. Jacques Janson was among the recipients who received a Meritorious Service Medal (Civil Division). The ceremony was attended by a small gathering of family and friends who joined in celebrating the recipients and their accomplishments.

 

"Known for his outstanding commitment to the duty of remembrance and his professionalism in the area of military commemorations, Jacques Janson has also distinguished himself by his tireless efforts to honour Francophone veterans from western Canada. His generosity to our country is inspiring, both in his efforts to restore Franco-Manitoban military memorials and in the conferences he hosts highlighting the tremendous sacrifice of Canada’s fallen soldiers."

Rideau Hall

Colonels Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair and Samuel Machac promoted within the National Order of Merit
France merit offier.png
2021-07-14 Photo ONM French Embassy.jpg
LOGO AMICITIA SMALL.png

Rarely have only two colonels working in the same French embassy been promoted simultaneously on the same decree. Such is the case with Colonel Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair, French Defence Attaché, and Colonel Samuel Machac, Homeland Security Attaché, both deployed at the Embassy of France in Canada since 2019. They were thus elevated to the rank of officer in the National Order of Merit on the French presidential decree of 15 June 2021. They also received their decoration a month later by Ambassador Kareen Rispal during the French National Day on 14 July 2021 at the French residence in Ottawa.

Photographed on the balcony of the French Embassy in Ottawa (left to right) are Colonel Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair and Colonel Samuel Machac.

Gérard Poupée made a Knight of the National Order of Merit
Screen Shot 2021-12-14 at 1.36.59 PM.png
LOGO AMICITIA SMALL.png
Chevalier.png

Photo : (From left to right) Gilbert Dekoker, vice-president of the Association of the National Order of Merit for Canada, Yves Chauchat, deputy consul, Francine Watkins, consular counsellor, Gérard Poupée, Hélène Conway-Mouret, senator of the French abroad, Norman Gaudet, head of the school.

Photo : Clément Lechat

Hélène Conway-Mouret, Senator for French Nationals Abroad, presents Gérard Poupée with the insignia of Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite, in the presence of his family, friends, and colleagues and alumni of the Toronto French School in Toronto on November 8, 2021.

Receiving the Ordre national du Mérite is a true consecration for this figure of the French community in Toronto, almost 20 years after becoming Commandeur des Palmes académiques in 2002. He had just retired after a long career in teaching.

"Through you, Gérard, I believe that this high distinction perfectly fulfills its purpose. It rewards a person who, through his outstanding civic spirit, serves as an example to the younger generations."

— Hélène Conway-Mouret (Translated from French)

RECONNAISSANCE

L'association Monument Amicitia France-Canada tient à reconnaitre les nombreux membres du collectif AMICITIA qui ont été reconnus pour leurs efforts associés aux relations franco-canadiennes avec son Programme de reconnaissance.

Jacques Janson reçoit une Médaille du service méritoire
de la gouverneure générale du Canada
meritorious-service-medal-msm_edited.png
Jacques Jenson.jpg
LOGO AMICITIA SMALL.png

Sur la photo prise dans la salle de bal de Rideau Hall, Jacques Janson est assis deuxième à partir de la droite dans la première rangée.

(Crédit : Sgt Mathieu St-Amour, Rideau Hall, Numéro de référence : GG09-2021-0116-071).

Le 13 décembre 2021, Son Excellence la très honorable Mary Simon, gouverneure générale du Canada, a remis des distinctions à 22 personnes remarquables lors d'une cérémonie à Rideau Hall (Ottawa). Jacques Janson était parmi les récipiendaires qui ont reçu une Médaille du service méritoire (division civile). L’événement a rassemblé un groupe restreint de parents et d’amis venus célébrer les récipiendaires et leurs réalisations.

 

 « Pour sa contribution exemplaire au devoir de mémoire et son professionnalisme dans le domaine des commémorations militaires, Jacques Janson s’est également démarqué par son engagement indéfectible à rendre hommage aux anciens combattants francophones de l’Ouest canadien. On lui attribue une générosité remarquable envers le pays, autant dans ses projets de restauration de mémoriaux militaires franco-manitobains que dans la tenue de conférences mettant en lumière le lourd sacrifice des soldats canadiens tombés au champ d’honneur. »

— Rideau Hall 

Les Colonels Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair et Samuel Machac promus dans l'Ordre national du Mérite
France merit offier.png
2021-07-14 Photo ONM French Embassy.jpg
LOGO AMICITIA SMALL.png

Rarement deux seuls colonels travaillant dans la même ambassade de France ont simultanément été promu sur un même décret. C'est le cas du colonel Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair, attaché de défense français, et du colonel Samuel Machac, attaché de sécurité intérieure, tous deux déployés à l'ambassade de France au Canada depuis 2019. Ils ont ainsi été élevés au grade d'officier dans l'Ordre national du Mérite sur le décret présidentiel français du 15 juin 2021. Ils ont aussi reçu leur décoration un mois plus tard par l'ambassadrice Kareen Rispal lors de la fête nationale française du 14 juillet 2021 à la résidence de France à Ottawa.

Photographiés au balcon de l'Ambassade de France à Ottawa (de gauche à droite), le Colonel Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair et le Colonel Samuel Machac.

Gérard Poupée fait chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite
Screen Shot 2021-12-14 at 1.36.59 PM.png
LOGO AMICITIA SMALL.png
Chevalier.png

Photo : (De gauche à droite) Gilbert Dekoker, vice-président de l’association de l’Ordre national du Mérite pour le Canada, Yves Chauchat, consul adjoint, Francine Watkins, conseillère consulaire, Gérard Poupée, Hélène Conway-Mouret, sénatrice des Français de l’étranger, Norman Gaudet, chef d’établissement. Photo : Clément Lechat

Hélène Conway-Mouret, sénatrice des Français de l'étranger, remet à Gérard Poupée les insignes de Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Mérite, en présence de sa famille, de ses amis, de ses collègues et anciens élèves du Toronto French School, le 8 novembre 2021, à Toronto.

Recevoir l’Ordre national du Mérite est une véritable consécration pour cette figure de la communauté française de Toronto, près de 20 ans après être devenu Commandeur des Palmes académiques en 2002. Il venait alors de prendre sa retraite après une longue carrière dans l’enseignement.

« À travers vous, Gérard, je crois que cette haute distinction répond parfaitement à sa vocation. Elle récompense une personne qui, par son esprit civique hors du commun, sert d’exemple aux jeunes générations. »

— Hélène Conway-Mouret