OUR GENESIS

Birth of the Monument Amicitia France-Canada

 

For the first time, four centuries of shared history and friendship between France and Canada are celebrated through a national monument with an emblematic name: The France-Canada Amicitia Monument.


Located on a forested civilian parcel of the Beechwood National Historic Site in Ottawa, Canada, between the Veteran's Cemetery and the Canadian Armed Forces Cemetery, this site is anchored in the Canadian Shield as a tribute to the geological footprint that covers nearly half of this immense country in a bed of rock and forest.  

"A citizen initiative led and supported by great people"

 

The unprecedented idea of a bi-national monument dedicated to Franco-Canadian friendship was born in 2016 in the mind of a Frenchman, Christophe Raisonnier (a former member of the French National Gendarmerie, founding president of the 1846th section of the Société Nationale d'Entraide de la Médaille Militaire –SNEMM– in Canada and delegate general of the Souvenir français in Canada). For months, he will work on the different phases and means to be implemented for this unprecedented colossal project. 

The meeting, in 2017, with André Levesque, Canadian (former reserve soldier of the Canadian Armed Forces, doctor of history very involved in remembrance, Chancellor of the Order of St. John) will give a very strong impetus to this monument project. In 2018, this pair joined forces to design the details of the future monument and took numerous steps to find the ideal site for its construction. The Beechwood National Cemetery site caught their attention and its Foundation, represented by the cemetery's president and executive director, and marketing director, Andrew Roy and Nick McCarthy, was won over by their presentation of the project. The Foundation decided to grant them a large parcel of land for the construction of the monument. 

In 2019, the seriousness of the project, which is already well underway, will convince and federate a number of Canadian and French partners, actors of the Franco-Canadian friendship. Thus, the presidents of French associations express their wish to join this civic initiative. Sylvie Bragard for the Union des Français de l'Étranger Ottawa-Gatineau (UFE), Yann-Alexandre Girard for Français du Monde Ottawa-Gatineau (FDM), Jacques Janson and Alain Landry for the Légion d'honneur de la capitale nationale, are enthusiastically committed to this project, with a special mention to Sylvie Bragard for her efficiency and unfailing commitment and to Yann-Alexandre Girard for his constant support. In August 2020, these Ottawa associations (including the 1846th section of the SNEMM), decided to form a federal association, under the name "Monument Amicitia France-Canada" (MAFC). When he took office in 2022, president Jacques Duchesneau of the Association des décorés de l'Ordre national du mérite, very excited by this civic cause, joined the MAFC association.  

Despite the sad context of the COVID-19 health crisis, the popularity of this innovative citizen's idea quickly exceeded the expectations of this newly created association and many remarkable people, whether from the public, private or associative sectors, or from non-profit foundations, invested themselves to help make the future monument a reality. The George and Helen Vari Foundation (the first major donor), the Baxter & Alma Ricard Foundation, the Toronto French School (TFS), Power Corporation of Canada, the Champlain Founder's Association (ACF), as well as the French presidents of SNEMM, José Miguel Réal, and of the Souvenir français, Serge Barcellini, will actively and financially support this great Franco-Canadian cause.


Politicians will also make a great contribution to this project such as the French Senator Hélène Conway-Mouret, the Canadian Senator, the Honourable Serge Joyal, the Honourable Mona Fortier, President of the Treasury Board of Canada, the federal Member of Parliament and President of the Canada-France Parliamentary Association, Marie-France Lalonde, and her assistant Anick Tremblay, Senator Yan Chantrel, the French Consular Councillors Francine Watkins and Marc Cormier, and Yann Le Borgne. Volunteers and associations from the Ottawa, Toronto, Montréal and Québec City regions have also expressed their desire to join the MAFC teams and have done admirable work, particularly in the areas of education and communication. They include Gérard Poupée-Hill and Marie Spilka (Toronto), Guillaume Pasquier (president of the Jeunes IHEDN Canada), Florian Caffier (FDM Toronto) and Monica Abhervé-hung (UFE Toronto), André Duquenne (Souvenir français and SNEMM Montreal), Jacques Robidoux (veteran of the Royal 22e Régiment of Québec). The MAFC administrators will thus contribute to anchor the citizen footprint of the monument.

French diplomats will distinguish themselves in this undertaking. Among them, the Secretary General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (2019-2022) and former Ambassador of France to Canada (2008-2011), François Delattre, Colonel (Air), Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair, Defence Attaché at the French Embassy in Canada (2019-2022) and his assistant, Chief Warrant Officer Christophe Baldacchino and Brigadier General (Gendarmerie), Samuel Machac, Assistant for Internal Security at the French Embassy in Canada (2019-2022) and upon his arrival, the French Ambassador to Canada, Michel Miraillet.


The Canadian Armed Forces will also be an integral part of this project, their great contribution, their unfailing support are to be made known to all. Let us mention the Vice-Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces, Lieutenant-General Frances Allen, Lieutenant-General (retired) Walter Semianiw, Major-General Simon Bernard, Major-General (retired) Guy Chapdelaine, Major Martin Colbert, Lieutenant-Colonel Carl Gautier, and Command Chief Warrant Officer Christopher Robin. 


All the numerous patrons and donors, as well as the generous financial contributions of the French government (Ministry of the Armed Forces and Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs) and the Canadian government (Department of Veterans Affairs), were essential to the success of this project. Everyone, according to their means, contributed to the construction of this monument. The Canadians and the French will be eternally grateful to them.

 

"A bi-national intergenerational monument"

 

This monument was built by Jean-Claude Tessier and his daughter Nathalie Boisvert (MCM Lettrage), whose generosity and passion for the realization and construction of this monument were admirable. Made of grey granite and bronze, measuring seven meters long and three meters high, this monument erected in 2021 is symbolically composed of a sculpture by artist Jan Stohl representing a Marianne (symbol of France) in the heart of a maple leaf (symbol of Canada), a torch (replica of the one existing on the site of the Vimy Memorial) held by a man's arm and the arm of the Marianne identical to the one sculpted on the Arc de Triomphe monument in Paris. On each wing of the monument named "France" and "Canada", four of the main civil and military decorations, French and Canadian, are engraved (France: Legion of Honour, Military Medal, National Order of Merit, National Defense Medal – Canada: Victoria Cross, Order of Canada, Order of Military Merit and Police Forces, Meritorious Service Cross). Two flagpoles were installed on either side of the monument. The first French and Canadian flags raised on these flagpoles in June 2021 were flown at the historic Second World War site of Juno Beach.



While the France-Canada Amicitia Monument lends itself perfectly to the duty of remembrance, it is above all an intergenerational educational tool. Canadians and French will be able to evoke the Franco-Canadian friendship in all its aspects and actions, past, present and future, whether social, cultural or commemorative. This monument must be a vector of knowledge and education for our Franco-Canadian youth. The Toronto French School (TFS), a generous donor, is already heavily involved in the development of an educational program around this monument. It is certain that many other schools will join in these educational programs. 


As of October 16, 2022, the date of its unveiling to the public, this monument comes to life! It is now up to all French and Canadian citizens, as well as their respective government representatives, to write the history of this young bi-national monument.

NOTRE GENÈSE

Naissance du Monument Amicitia France-Canada

 

Pour la première fois, quatre siècles d’histoire et d’amitié communes entre la France et le Canada sont célébrés à travers un monument national au nom emblématique : Monument Amicitia France-Canada.

Situé sur une parcelle civile boisée du site national historique de Beechwood à Ottawa (Canada), entre les cimetières des vétérans et celui des Forces armées canadiennes, cet emplacement est ancré dans le bouclier canadien comme un hommage à l’empreinte géologique qui couvre d’un lit de roches et de forêts près de la moitié de cet immense pays.  

 

« Une initiative citoyenne menée et soutenue par des personnes formidables »

L’idée inédite d’un monument binational dédié à l’amitié franco-canadienne naît en 2016 dans l’esprit d’un Français, Christophe Raisonnier (ancien militaire de la Gendarmerie nationale française, président fondateur de la 1846e section de la Société Nationale d’Entraide de la Médaille Militaire –SNEMM– au Canada et délégué général du Souvenir français au Canada). Pendant des mois, il va travailler sur les différentes phases et moyens à mettre en œuvre pour ce projet colossal sans précédent. 

La rencontre, en 2017, avec André Levesque, Canadien (ancien militaire de réserve des Forces armées canadiennes, docteur en histoire très impliqué dans le devoir de mémoire, chancelier de l’Ordre de Saint-Jean) va donner une très belle impulsion à ce projet de monument. En 2018, ce binôme met alors en commun ses forces pour concevoir les détails du futur monument et entame de nombreuses démarches pour trouver le site idéal à son édification. Le site du cimetière national de Beechwood retient leur attention et la Fondation éponyme, représentée par le président et directeur général, et le directeur du marketing du cimetière, Andrew Roy et Nick McCarthy, est conquise par leur présentation du projet. Elle décide de leur concéder gracieusement une importante parcelle de terrain pour la construction du monument. 

En 2019, le sérieux du projet déjà bien abouti, va convaincre et fédérer nombre de partenaires canadiens et français, acteurs de l’amitié franco-canadienne. Ainsi, des présidentes et présidents d’associations françaises expriment leur souhait de se joindre à cette démarche citoyenne. Sylvie Bragard pour l’Union des Français de l’Étranger Ottawa-Gatineau (UFE), Yann-Alexandre Girard pour Français du Monde Ottawa-Gatineau (FDM), Jacques Janson et Alain Landry pour les décorés de la Légion d’honneur de la capitale nationale, s’engagent avec enthousiasme dans ce projet, avec une mention particulière à Sylvie Bragard pour son efficacité dans un engagement indéfectible et à Yann-Alexandre Girard pour son soutien de tous les instants. En août 2020, ces associations d’Ottawa (incluant la 1846e section de la SNEMM), décident de former une association fédérale, sous le nom « Monument Amicitia France-Canada » (MAFC). A sa prise de fonction en 2022, le président Jacques Duchesneau de l’association des décorés de l’Ordre national du mérite, très enjoué par cette cause citoyenne, va rejoindre l’association MAFC. 

Malgré le triste contexte de crise sanitaire de la COVID-19, la popularité de cette idée citoyenne novatrice va rapidement dépasser les espérances de cette association nouvellement créée et de nombreuses personnes remarquables, qu’elles soient des secteurs publics, privés ou associatifs, ou encore de fondations à buts non lucratifs, vont s’investir pour aider à ce que le futur monument devienne une réalité. Les Fondations George et Helen Vari (premier grand généreux donateur) et Baxter&Alma Ricard, la Toronto French School (TFS), la compagnie Power Corporation du Canada, l’Association Champlain fondateur (ACF) ainsi que les présidents généraux français de la SNEMM, José Miguel Réal, et du Souvenir français, Serge Barcellini, vont activement et financièrement soutenir cette grande cause franco-canadienne.

Des femmes et hommes politiques vont aussi apporter une très belle contribution à ce projet tels que la Sénatrice française Hélène Conway-Mouret, le sénateur canadien, l’honorable Serge Joyal, l’honorable Mona Fortier, présidente du Conseil du trésor du Canada, la députée fédérale et présidente de l’association parlementaire Canada-France, Marie-France Lalonde, et son assistante Anick Tremblay, le Sénateur Yan Chantrel, les Conseillers consulaires français Francine Watkins et Marc Cormier puis Yann Le Borgne. Des bénévoles et des associations des régions d’Ottawa, de Toronto, de Montréal et de Québec vont aussi manifester leur souhait de rejoindre les équipes de MAFC et fournir un travail admirable notamment sur les volets pédagogiques, communication, mais aussi mémoriels tels que Gérard Poupée-Hill et Marie Spilka (Toronto), Guillaume Pasquier (Président des Jeunes IHEDN Canada), Florian Caffier (FDM Toronto) et Monica Abhervé-hung (UFE Toronto), André Duquenne (Souvenir français et SNEMM Montréal), Jacques Robidoux (vétéran du Royal 22ème Régiment de Québec). Les administrateurs de MAFC vont ainsi contribuer à ancrer l’empreinte citoyenne du monument.

Des diplomates français vont s’illustrer dans cette entreprise. Parmi eux, le secrétaire général du ministère des affaires étrangères (2019-2022) et ancien Ambassadeur de France au Canada (2008-2011), François Delattre, le colonel (Air), Jérôme Lacroix-Leclair, attaché de défense à l’ambassade de France au Canada (2019-2022) et son assistant, l’adjudant-chef Christophe Baldacchino et le Général de brigade (Gendarmerie), Samuel Machac, assistant de sécurité intérieure à l’ambassade de France au Canada (2019-2022) et dès son arrivée, l’Ambassadeur de France au Canada, Michel Miraillet.

Les Forces armées canadiennes vont aussi faire partie intégrante de ce projet, leur grande contribution, leur appui sans faille sont à porter à la connaissance de tous. Citons la Vice-cheffe d’état-major des armées, la lieutenante-générale Frances Allen, le lieutenant-général (retraité) Walter Semianiw, le major-général Simon Bernard, le major-général (retraité) Guy Chapdelaine, le major Martin Colbert, le lieutenant-colonel Carl Gautier, et l’adjudant-chef de commandement Christopher Robin. 

Tous les nombreux mécènes et donateurs, ainsi que les généreuses contributions financières des gouvernements français (ministères des armées et des affaires étrangères et européennes) et canadiens (ministère des anciens combattants), ont été essentiels à la réussite de ce projet. Chacun, selon ses moyens, a contribué à ce que ce monument puisse être édifié. Les Canadiens et les Français leur en seront éternellement reconnaissants.  

 

« Un monument binational intergénérationnel »


Ce monument a été construit par Jean-Claude Tessier et sa fille Nathalie Boisvert (MCM Lettrage), dont la générosité et la passion pour la réalisation et l’édification de ce monument ont été admirables. Fait de granit gris et de bronze, mesurant sept mètres de long pour trois mètres de haut, ce monument érigé en 2021 est symboliquement composé d’une sculpture de l’artiste Jan Stohl représentant une Marianne (symbole de la France) au cœur d’une feuille d’érable (symbole du Canada), d’un flambeau (réplique de celui existant sur le site du monument commémoratif du Canada à Vimy) tenu par un bras d’homme et le bras de Marianne identique à celui sculpté sur le monument de l’Arc de Triomphe à Paris. Sur chaque aile du monument dénommée « France » et « Canada », quatre des principales décorations civiles et militaires, françaises et canadiennes, sont engravées (France : Légion d’honneur, Médaille militaire, Ordre national du Mérite, Médaille de la défense nationale – Canada : Croix de Victoria, Ordre du Canada, l’Ordre de mérite militaire et des corps policier, Croix du service méritoire). Deux mâts des couleurs ont été installés de part et d’autre du monument. Les premiers drapeaux français et canadiens hissés sur ces mâts ont flotté en juin 2021 sur le site historique de la seconde Guerre mondiale de Juno Beach. 


Si le Monument Amicitia France-Canada se prête parfaitement au devoir de mémoire, c’est avant tout un outil pédagogique intergénérationnel. Les Canadiens et Français pourront y évoquer l’amitié franco-canadienne sous tous ses prismes et toutes ses actions, conjugués au passé, au présent et au futur, qu’ils soient sociaux, culturels ou commémoratifs. Ce monument doit être un vecteur de connaissances et d’éducation pour notre jeunesse franco-canadienne. La Toronto French School (TFS), généreux donateur, s’investit d’ores et déjà considérablement dans l’élaboration d’un programme pédagogique autour de ce monument. Il est certain que bien d’autres établissements scolaires s’associeront à ces programmes éducatifs. 

A partir du 16 octobre 2022, date de son dévoilement citoyen, ce monument prend vie ! Il appartient dorénavant à toutes les citoyennes et citoyens français et canadiens, ainsi qu’aux représentants de leurs gouvernements respectifs, d’écrire l’histoire de ce jeune monument binational.